Tue09232014

Last updateTue, 23 Sep 2014 2pm

Cambridge

PHE - Public Health Laboratory, Cambridge

Box 236,

Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust,

Cambridge Biomedical Campus,

Hills Road,

Cambridge CB2 0QW

 

DX address: PHE East of England

Cambridge Laboratory
DX 6050101
Cambridge 90 CB


Tel: 01223 257036

 

Fax 01223 242775

 


Staff

Ms Laura Ryall

Head of Operations

Laura.ryall@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Dr Hongyi Zhang

Consultant Virologist

Hongyi.zhang@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Dr Hamid Jalal

Consultant Virologist

Hamid.jalal@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Dr Chris Smith

Consultant Virologist

cs222@cam.ac.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Dr Kathryn Rolfe

Consultant Clinical Scientist – Virology

Kathryn.rolfe@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Dr Martin Curran

Clinical Scientist – Head of Molecular Service

Martin.curran@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Dr Jane Greatorex

Senior Postdoctoral Scientist

Jane.greatorex@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Mr Martin L’Estrange

Virology/Molecular Service Manager

Martin.lestrange@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Mr Gordon Sutehall

Quality and Safety Manager

Gordon.sutehall@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Mr Surendra Parmar

Molecular Development Scientist

Surendra.parmar@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Mrs Cathy Cunliffe

Senior Biomedical Scientist

Cathy.cunliffe@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Mrs Gillian Higgins

Senior Biomedical Scientist

Gillian.higgins@addenbrookes.nhs.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Mrs Melanie Smith

Senior Biomedical Scientist

Melanie.smith@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

 

What do we do?

We offer a comprehensive diagnostic viral serology and molecular virology service complete with clinical interpretation and advice.

Viral Serology

Hepatitis A virus total and IgM antibodies

Hepatitis B virus screening, confirmation and markers.

Hepatitis C virus screening and confirmation.

Hepatitis D virus antibodies

Hepatitis E virus IgG and IgM

HIV screening and confirmation

Rubella virus IgG and IgM

CMV IgG and IgM

Erythrovirus IgG and IgM

EBV IgG and IgM

Measles virus IgG and IgM

Mumps virus IgG and IgM

HTLV I/II antibodies

VZV IgG and IgM

HSV IgG

Toxoplasma gondii IgG

Helicobacter pylori faecal antigen

Helicobacter pylori IgG

Treponema pallidum IgG

Borrelia burgdorferi IgG

Streptococcal serology

Rotavirus/adenovirus faecal antigen

Molecular Virology

Respiratory virus multiplex PCR for influenza A, influenza B, RSV, rhinovirus, metapneumovirus, adenovirus and parainfluenza virus types 1-4.

Influenza A virus subtyping (H1, H3, H5) and oseltamivir susceptibility testing of H1N1.

Quantitative PCR assays for CMV, HIV, HBV, HCV, BKV, EBV and adenovirus

Qualitative PCR assays for EBV, adenovirus, norovirus, enteroviruses, parechovirus, JCV, HEV, HSV-1, HSV-2, VZV and Pneumocystis jirovecii.

Genotyping of HCV and HIV

Genotypic resistance testing of HIV

NAAT for Chlamydia trachomatis and Neiserria gonorrhoeae

Ribotyping of Clostridium difficile


Out of hours’ service

Urgent testing for blood-borne viruses following needle-stick injury. Urgent testing for blood-borne viruses in organ donors


Page last updated on 15 October 2013

Return to www.clinicalvirology.org