Fri10312014

Last updateWed, 22 Oct 2014 9am

Manchester

Location of laboratory

Manchester

Name and postal address of the laboratory

Virology Laboratory
Clinical Sciences Building
Central Manchester Foundation Trust
M13 9WZ

DX address DX 6962410

Telephone number for enquiries & fax number Tel: 0161 276 8878
Fax: 0161 276 5744

Staff

Consultants
Dr Ken Mutton,
ken.mutton@hpa.org.uk
0161 276 8853

Dr Andrew Turner,
andrew.turner@cmft.nhs.uk
0161 276 8853

Dr Mubirak Husain

Mubby.husain@phe.gov.uk

0161 276 8853

 

Dr Louise Hesketh

Louise.hesketh@cmft.nhs.uk

0161 276 8853


StR in Virology and Infectious Disease
Dr Shazaad Ahmad

shazaad.ahmad@cmft.nhs.uk
0161 276 5487

StR in Virology
Dr Nick Machin,
nicholas.machin@cmft.nhs.uk

Laboratory Manager
Mr David Ellis,
dave.ellis@hpa.org.uk
0161 276 8838

Clinical Scientists
Dr Malcolm Guiver,
malcolm.guiver@hpa.org.uk
0161 276 8833

Mr Peter Tilson,
peter.tilston@cmft.nhs.uk
0161 276 8849

Dr Alex Sargent,
alex.sargent@cmft.nhs.uk
0161 901 4774

Mr Ben Brown,
benjamin.brown@cmft.nhs.uk
0161 276 6512

IT Manager
Mr Alan Blackley,
alan.blackley@hpa.org.uk
0161 276 8837

Deputy Laboratory Managers
Mr Alan Lord,
alan.lord@cmft.nhs.uk
0161 276 8843

Mr John Marsh,
john.marsh@cmft.nhs.uk
0161 276 5685

Senior Biomedical Scientists
Ms Ruth Abbott,
ruth.abbott@hpa.org.uk

Mrs Melanie Amphlett,
melanie.amphlett@phe.org.uk

Ms Sheila Bradbury,
Sheila.bradbury@hpa.org.uk

Ms Victoria Carter,
victoria.carter@hpa.org.uk

Mrs Tina Cuthbertson
tina.cuthbertsonl@phe.org.uk

Mrs Laura Grice

laura.grice@phe.org.uk

Mrs Rosemary Killough,
rosemary.killough@cmft.nhs.uk

Mrs Janet Turner,
janet.turner@cmft.nhs.uk

Mrs Emma Wood,
emma.wood@cmft.nhs.uk

What do we do?

We are one of the largest clinical virology laboratories in the UK receiving over 400,000 samples per annum on which we perform approx 1 million tests. We have modern, state of the art facilities backed by an experienced clinical team and highly trained staff dedicated to delivering a comprehensive virology service.

Links:

http://www.cmft.nhs.uk/info-for-health-professionals/laboratory-medicine/clinicalvirology.aspx

Out of hours’ service

Out normal working day is 08:30 to 17:30 Monday to Friday and 08:30 to 12:30 on Saturday. Outside these hours the duty consultant virologist and on call biomedical scientist can be contacted via the switchboard on 0161 276 1234